Where are they now?

Latest Department News

Nagaraj Neerchal Elected Fellow of the ASA

Dr. Nagaraj K. Neerchal, was elected Fellow of the American Statistical Association (ASA). This honor recognizes the professional contributions of members of the ASA and is limited to one-third of...

Posted: December 25, 2013, 2:48 PM

Matthias Gobbert recognized for mentoring

Receives the 2010 USM Board of Regents Faculty Award

Dr. Matthias Gobbert is the recipient of the 2010 University System of Maryland Board of Regents Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring, in recognition of his success in using the Center for...

Posted: December 25, 2013, 2:44 PM

Bonny Tighe recognized for excellence in teaching

Receives the 2009 Carl Webber Excellence in Teaching award

The inaugural award was presented at the CNMS Student Recognition Day ceremony on May 8, 2009 to Bonny Tighe, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics who started at UMBC...

Posted: December 25, 2013, 2:37 PM

Thomas Mathew named Presidential Research Professor

Professor Thomas Mathew has been designated Presidential Research Professor at UMBC for the three-year term July 1, 2007-June 30, 2011. The award was presented by President Freeman A.  Hrabowski...

Posted: December 25, 2013, 2:29 PM

Manil Suri: AY 2007-08 Wilson H. Elkins Professorship award

Professor Manil Suri has been selected to receive a Wilson H. Elkins Professorship for AY 2007-2008.  The award will support Professor Suri's plans to foster interest and learning in mathematics...

Posted: December 25, 2013, 2:19 PM