Jeremy Rubin awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Off to UPenn for grad school

Jeremy Rubin, BS '20 Statistics, has been awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.  Beginning fall 2020 he will be in the PhD program at the University of Pennsylvania’s Perleman School of...

Posted: May 22, 2020, 2:19 PM

Dr. Kathleen Hoffman receives NSF and CURM grants

Models of the spread of HIV

Dr. Kathleen Hoffman is the recent recipient of two grants: One from NSF to develop models of the spread of HIV, and the other from CURM (Center for Undergraduate Research in Mathematics) that...

Posted: May 1, 2020, 4:32 PM

Cosmin Petra wins the ARPA-E Grid Optimization

Dr. Cosmin Petra (PhD 2009, Applied Mathematics) who is a a computational mathematician at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, led a team that achieved  first place on all four divisions...

Posted: February 15, 2020, 5:11 PM

Congratulations to Tamara Kolda!

Tamara Kolda  (BS, Applied Mathematics, UMBC 1992 — PhD, Applied Mathematics, UMCP,  1997), distinguished member of the technical staff, informatics and systems assessments, Sandia National...

Posted: February 8, 2020, 6:09 PM

Conference on Environmental and Medical Statistics

UMBC in Sri Lanka

The International Conference on Environmental and Medical Statistics took place in January 2020 at the Postgraduate Institute of Science of University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka.  This was a joint...

Posted: January 6, 2020, 1:22 PM

Drs. Draganescu and Sousedik are awarded an NSF grant

Project Title:  Multilevel Methods for Optimal Control of Partial Differential Equations and Optimization-Based Domain Decomposition Drs. Andrei Draganescu and Bedrich Sousedik, in collaboration...

Posted: August 20, 2019, 11:12 AM

Dr. Justin Webster receives a new NSF grant

Project Title: Experiment, Theory, and Simulation of Aeroelastic Limit Cycle Oscillations for Energy Harvesting Applications Dr. Justin Webster has been awarded an NSF grant (DMS–1907620) in the...

Posted: August 17, 2019, 9:08 AM

Dr. Jinglai Shen receives a new NSF grant

Project Title: Smart Vehicle Platooning Built upon Real-Time Learning and Distributed Optimization Dr.  Jinglai Shen has been awarded a NSF grant (CMMI 1902006) in the amount of $130,000 for the...

Posted: August 16, 2019, 4:39 PM